We are the architects of our own demise or: Why do we hate our freedom?

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Real Life
Tags: , , , ,

You said something on your radio program that I disagree with.  I could change the channel, but that would be too simple. I need to do something extreme.  I can’t make this choice on my own.  I need to make sure that it’s extreme enough that other lemmings join me.  I’ve got it. You wear pants, right?  Great.  I’ll boycott pants. When people see me without my pants on, they’ll know that I’m not going to stand for your bullshit and they’ll take off their pants too.

I’ve read a little about the current controversy with Limbaugh. I don’t side with him, but I don’t side with his detractors either.  He’s one man spouting off opinions on a radio program.  He has as much influence over you as you allow.  If you disagree with what he says, change the channel. It’s that simple.

All of this hoopla with people getting in an uproar and companies pulling advertising is ridiculous.  I hate that consumers have so much power.  If enough consumers whine and bitch and moan, a company will easily cave. Companies can’t take a stand because they don’t want to lose the money that consumers bring in.  In comic books they say, “with great power comes great responsibility.”  In real life we say, “fuck responsibility, I’m going use my power regardless of the consequences.”

We’re big fans of Freedom of Speech until someone says something that we disagree with.  The sad thing is that we use our Freedom of Speech to crush that other person’s Freedom of Speech. We just don’t want to think about it like that.  Basically, you’re free to say whatever you want to say as long as I agree with everything you say.  Hypocrites.

We forget that in addition to Freedom of Speech, we have the undocumented Freedom of Listening.  If you don’t like what someone is saying, don’t listen. It’s just that simple. Change the channel. Go read a book. Go darn some socks. No one is strapping you down Clockwork Orange style making you listen to these things.  You make a conscious choice every time you tune into a program that you disagree with.

The end result is that we are killing honesty and straightforwardness.  Would you rather people only tell you what you want to hear or would you like for them to be honest so that you can make an informed decision about whether you agree or disagree?  Whether you agree with Rush Limbaugh or not, at least you know where he stands and you can make an easy choice whether or not to stand with him.  Would you rather him lie to you?  Would you rather him use vague language so that he’s saying the same thing but in a way that confuses you resulting in you agreeing with him when you normally wouldn’t?

How does that make you feel?

