Things that have annoyed me today

Posted: May 7, 2012 in Random
Tags: , , ,

This could be my new job. Writing down things that annoy me could become my new obsession. I’m kidding (sort of).

Both of these have one thing in common, tho. They relate to people that have recently had breakups. Here are my observations.

  1. Being single and choosing to be single are not the same.  Today a friend on Facebook talked about why she had “chosen to be single.” Don’t get me wrong, she gave good reasons.  My problem is that 9 minutes, that’s right only 9 minutes later she says, okay I’m single, where’s my soul mate. I don’t feel like this is choosing to be single. I think this is simply being single. Choosing to be single means that you’re not looking for a soul mate. You’re not looking for any relationship whatsoever because you are happy and  have decided you don’t need another person to feel complete.  If you are of the mind set that you still want (or “need”) to find another person to be complete, then you have not chose to be single. You simply are single. (See my treatise on being single in a previous post.)
  2. After you break up, you’re the greatest person in the whole wide world.  At least according to your friends. “He’s the one that’s missing out.” “It’s his loss.” “She doesn’t know what she’s missing.” “You deserve better.” All of this amazes me. People are so quick to lift this person up, have they considered that it could be their fault after all.  I mean, when a relationship falls apart, someone as fault.  Usually, both parties share some blame even tho one will generally share more than the other.  I just find it amusing that people can’t think of anything more comforting to say than to put the person on a pedestal. Usually, it’s guys probably hoping to get in sad girl’s pants.

How does that make you feel?

