I think I have the answer.

Posted: July 28, 2012 in Random
Tags: , , , ,

Somewhere between consciousness and unconsciousness I dreamed (or imagined) that I was part of a political debate, and the topic was, of course, gun control.  My suggestion was that we pause for a second. Let’s step back for a second and just talk about people.  I’d then roll the following clip:

Now I’d ask the crowd, “How many of you know people that need a sign?” I’d expect more than a few hands would be raised.

Next, I’d talk about road rage. (I’m sure that if I was doing a real debate, I’d have some statistics handy, but a quick search online doesn’t yield much.  We’ll have to do a little pretending.)  Now, I’d ask the crowd, “How many of you have been subjected to road rage or have had road rage?” I expect that more than a few hands would be raised.

Let’s talk about Facebook. Virtually everyone is on Facebook these days. How many of you know someone who overshares? How many of you know someone that updates their status every time their mood swings? How many of you look at your Facebook newsfeed and sometimes just shake your head?

Now let’s circle back to gun control.  How many of you would give a gun to someone who needs “a sign”? Imagine if more road rage instances involved guns. Imagine if those moody, irresponsible people you follow on Facebook all owned guns.

Once you step back from gun control and take time to think about the people that you’re fighting for to own guns, I think it changes the perspective a bit.

How does that make you feel?

