Corporate Culture & Psychological Warfare

Posted: June 21, 2013 in Random
Tags: , , ,

I was thinking the other day about how working in an office is a great way to lose your individuality… or at least have it suppressed.  Everyone is expected to behave a certain way. Everyone is expected to dress a certain way. They want you to adopt their way of communication.  It’s about the group, not the individual.

For 5 days a week, you’re expected to fit into a particular mold.  If you have something to say, you have to figure out how to communicate it within certain guidelines.  Perception is your enemy, and intentions don’t matter. Frustration must be contained. Don’t do anything to damage the hive mind. Everyone must adapt.

Do you remember who you are? Who you used to be?  Before corporate buzzwords and drone mentality infected your person? Do you remember what it’s like to express a contrary thought?  When was the last time you had an opinion that rubbed others the wrong way?

Instead of agreeing to disagree, can we just disagree?  Am I allowed to hate?  Am I allowed to have politically incorrect thoughts? Am I allowed to do something you don’t like even though I’m forced to like everything you do?

Goddammit, I am a PERSON. I am an INDIVIDUAL. I am NOT A ROBOT. I like what I like for the same reason that you like what you like, but that does NOT mean that I have to like what you like or care about what you care about.  I don’t have to care period.

Faking it is a job requirement.

How does that make you feel?

