For the record, it was my drunk idea.

Posted: June 28, 2013 in Random
Tags: , , ,

I need to record this story while it’s still fresh in my mind and I’m not completely sober.

We’re at Hooters tonight (normal Thursday), me and Rob, but what isn’t normal is that they’re showing the 30th annual Hooters swimsuit pageant.  While, we’re watching, they pass out free copies of Hooters magazine, which contain pictures of all of the contestants.

So midnight comes around and although they’ve announced the 5 (out of 60) finalists, they haven’t gotten to the winner yet.  And then DirecTV cuts out. Seriously? You’re going to leave us in suspense, DirecTV?  And so then I start making jokes that I probably wouldn’t have made if I hadn’t been on my second pitcher of beer.

“I guess I’m just gonna have to go home and jack off to all 5 since I don’t know who won.” And then, of course, Rob is like, “he isn’t even joking.”  So then I say, “Hell, I may expand the pool and give the others a ‘mercy jerk.'”  And that’s when everyone started busting out laughing. (Everyone being me, Rob, Susan, and our acquaintance Williams.)  We laughed so hard.

We then started drunkenly brainstorming.  Let’s make a “mercy jerk” calendar – nothin’ but runners up. We could market mercy jerk socks, mercy jerk tissues.  Mercy Jerkin’… who needs lotion when you’ve got sympathy tears.

Of course, mercy jerk has a different definition on Urban Dictionary, but we were having too much fun with the spontaneous idea we had come up with.  And Rob decides to register mercyjerk.com on GoDaddy… and it’s not already taken!

Where this idea goes, who knows.  I just think it’s funny as hell, but Rob thinks we might be on to something.  I guess we’ll see.

How does that make you feel?

