Relationships make me sad.

Posted: September 29, 2013 in Random
Tags: , ,

Well, not really, but I have noticed that my reaction to them is not like the others.  The other day a friend changed her relationship status on Facebook announcing that she was in a relationship with some guy.  I didn’t click like on the status. I didn’t congratulate her. Beyond curiosity of who he is, I didn’t have much reaction at all.

I began thinking about my reaction, or lack thereof, and the more I dwelled on it, I began to put my feelings in the category of disappointment.  As I’ve mentioned before, I sometimes see myself as somewhat of a champion of the single life. My superpower is not feeling lonely.  Go have fun, even if it’s by yourself.  What matters is what you’re doing, not who you’re doing it with.  At least that’s my mentality.

I’m not one of those people in denial that proclaims, “I’ve chosen to be single” when everyone can list a number of reasons why that person is single.  No, single is just where I happen to find myself, and I’ve chosen to make the most of it.  I  hope that if I ever do find myself in a relationship, I continue to do the things that I love.  I suppose the key to that is finding someone who has the same passions.  For now, though, I’m content to be by myself.

As Tyler Durden put it, “We’re a generation of men raised by women. I’m wondering if another woman is really the answer we need.”

Comments
  1. Being in a relationship is not an effort to get rid of being lonely, it’s finding someone you can bring into your life with you, even if it is purely by accident, which was the case with me. I enjoyed being single. Doing what I wanted when I wanted. And I have plenty of passions that keep me from being lonely. Still, it’s great to find someone who integrates seamlessly into your life without taking over it and changing into his or her life. And, it’s a LOT more sex. There’s nothing wrong with you if you haven’t found that person yet, or even if you never do. It’s our passions that define us. A life well lived belongs to everyone, single or coupled, who wakes up every day doing what he or she loves.

How does that make you feel?

