Thoughts from the road.

Posted: October 20, 2013 in Random, Real Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been back from my roadtrip for a week now, so I thought it was time to make note of some of my thoughts during the experience.

I now have a greater appreciation for TSA.

While the TSA is there to protect us and to make sure we don’t take more than 3 ounces of nitroglycerin onto an airplane, the border patrol is there to be overly suspicious and make us feel like criminals. It’s all about perspective, really.  I mean, did you watch the video about my experience with the border patrol?

Road signs can be really silly.

Guardrail Damage AheadYeah, so what’s the purpose of this sign for guardrail damage? If I was thinking about committing vehicular suicide, should I do so somewhere else since this guardrail is already damaged?  Someone else had questions about this too.

“Maintain Your Car” – This is another sign I saw while driving, mainly in Texas as best I recall.  I couldn’t find an example online, but seriously, who is this helping?  If I have failed to get my oil changed regularly, do you think that throwing up some highway signs are going to convince me otherwise? Might as well throw up some signs to remind me to brush my teeth too.

In some spots, I would come across speed limit signs with the addition of “Strictly Enforced.”  Really?  So the others are kinda loosely enforced?

Bridge Ices Before Road

 And then I had to repeatedly see this reminder, which became really annoying when crossing several small bridges back to back.  I mean, thanks Mr. Science, I didn’t realize that where there is more moisture, there’d also be a greater chance of ice.  Genius.

While on my trip, I swung up to Alabama to visit my friend Heather.  While it was nice to see her in general, I was later thinking about how unusual it was to be able to have conversations about Twitter, Tumblr, and other social media and blogging sites.  I don’t know many people that blog or tweet that I can have legit conversations with about online activities.  If I tried to talk to most of my friends about Tumblr or WordPress, I’m pretty sure I’d get a blank stare. It was quite refreshing to talk with someone that actually understands and is familiar with the various online platforms.

I’ve traveled for my birthday for the past few years, and I think that it’s time to take a break.  Roadtrips have their ups and downs for me.  In the beginning, it’s fun to escape and see new places, but towards the end of the trip, there is this sense that time is running out.  The last half of the trip becomes all about seeing places I’d like to stop but not having the time to.

I also think I’ve done most of the major roadtrips that I had wanted to do.  Next, I’d like to focus on specific locations. Taking a break next year to regroup and spend time with family and friends locally is a good idea for me.  Plus, there were quite a few local events that I missed out on by traveling this year.

How does that make you feel?

