The Middle

Posted: March 30, 2014 in Random
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It's Me Again [click to watch the video]

You see beauty, I see pain. You see sky, and I see acid rain. It’s me again, It’s me again.

I am not the smartest person, but I’m often the smartest in the room.  I’m more of a geek than most people I know, but the one time I attended comic-con, I was in the minority of people that didn’t attend in costume.  My music is heavier than yours, but there are plenty of people more die-hard than me.  We probably have beer in common, but if you’re drinking Bud Light, then you are not on the same level I am. I’m don’t brew my own, tho, and there are still plenty of beers I have yet to try.

My point is that you probably think that I’m a hardcore fan, but I know that there are plenty of other people that would put me to shame.  I know that on the fan spectrum, I’m usually somewhere in the middle.  Much of the reason for that is that I don’t wholeheartedly dedicate myself to just one passion. I have many.  I may not be able to quote every song lyric like you can, but that doesn’t mean I love the music any less.  It just means that I love a whole bunch of music, and there is no way I can memorize it all.  It’s fine that you remember more movie quotes than I do. I know that I’ve probably seen more movies than you.

It’s also about balance for me.  If the majority shares one perspective, then I’ll be over here checking out these other perspectives.  Everyone’s all riled up about politics. I have no interest.  Everyone is super excited about movie X coming out this summer.  I may wait and rent it.  If you’re being overly negative, I’m going to think of something positive to say.  If you’re all bubbly and cheerful, then I’m going to remain calm.

Comments
  1. I can relate to this. Especially the “that doesn’t mean I love the music any less” part. It’s such a true statement and can be used on a much grander scale. Experience is such a highly private and personal thing that no one can actually be sure how some one else feels about something. Often, the feeling gets lost somewhere between experience and knowledge. After all, “One man’s fun is another’s hell” — Metallica.

How does that make you feel?

