Karma is like cartoon gravity.

Posted: November 9, 2014 in Real Life
Tags: , , ,

image copyright Warner Bros via http://spootyrants.livejournal.com/726.html

 

Recently, I have adopted a different view of karma.  I think it mostly impacts those that are aware of it.  Too often we will sit back and comfort ourselves knowing that we don’t have to get even because the person that wronged us will get what’s coming to them. But will they?  If they don’t believe in karma or the golden rule or a similar philosophy, then they may just keep taking advantage of people and be very successful at it. Do you that they’ll ever be happy?  Sure, why not?  If they have a view that they aren’t doing anything wrong, then there is no guilt for them.  Their conscience is clear.

But maybe, just maybe, one day they’ll see their actions for what they are.  I can’t hold out hope for that. I don’t see how that person is going to see things from my point of view all of a sudden.  Maybe one day someone will take advantage of them, but even so, if they don’t realize how their past actions impacted you, then they aren’t going to equate how they were treated to how they treated you.

Does that mean that I live my life differently?  No.  I’m aware of reaping what I sow, and I don’t want to reap unpleasantness.  Since I’m aware of karma, I’m subject to it, just like a cartoon character that is aware of gravity.  It would be against my nature to treat someone in a way that I would not want to be treated.

How does that make you feel?

