Apparently, I don’t know how ordering food works.

Posted: January 18, 2015 in Real Life
Tags:
Image courtesy of KEKO64 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of KEKO64 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

There have been a few instances in the past that have really made me shake my head.  I’m just really at a loss on how to better communicate something that I figure should be so simple.  I’m, of course, talking about ordering food.  I’ve gotten past Subway not understanding what “a little mayonnaise” means, but there are some instances that just baffle me.

Not long ago, Hooters added these “bowls” to their menu.  They looked pretty good, so I ordered the one listed on the menu as the Bacon Cheeseburger Bowl.  When I received my order, there was no bacon to be seen.  When I asked the waitress about it, she replied, “Did you ask for bacon?”  Why would I ask for bacon when it’s in the description???

I had a similar experience at one of my favorite local food trucks.  I understand that it was really busy at the venue that evening, but I still don’t get it.  The sandwich was described as coming with… you guessed it, bacon. Actually, about 3 layers of bacon throughout the sandwich/burger.  When I received my order, the bacon, all of it, was missing.  It’s been a while but I think I also asked for some additional toppings, and they weren’t on there either.  I could understand the cook forgetting the extras, but how do you forget to put in the ingredients on the actual description??

I really don’t get it.  When I order food, I expect it to come with everything described in the menu unless I request otherwise.  That shouldn’t be too much to ask.

Sometimes, tho, it’s just a simple matter of the person responsible for your order not paying attention.  Like when I tried to order Wendy’s new Smoked Gouda Chicken sandwich.  I even asked for it “homestyle.”  After biting into, I realized there was no cheese.  A few more bites later I realized that it was grilled chicken.  The cashier wrang me up for the regular grilled chicken sandwich meal.  I figured I’d go back the next week and try again, but unfortunately, the Smoked Gouda Chicken was a limited time offer that had ended.

Then there was the time that I went through the McDonald’s drive-thru and ordered a Quarter Pounder with Cheese, a “Royale with Cheese” for you Pulp Fiction fans.  Once I got home, I found myself holding a Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese.  And then I ordered pizza and wings from Papa Johns. Coincidentally, someone in a nearby neighborhood also order a large pizza and wings because the delivery guy gave me their order.  Unfortunately, they didn’t order the same thing I did.

What gives??

How does that make you feel?

