A Sense of Community

Posted: March 15, 2015 in Real Life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Randall from Clerks

If there’s one thing that I miss about going to church, it’s the sense of community that I experienced.  Gathering with like-minded people on a regular basis. Making new friends due to a simple common association. Late night conversations in the parking lot. Those were positive aspects of being part of a group.

After I left church, I missed that.  It’s not that I didn’t have friends to hang out with or things to do. I just lacked a group of people who all gathered together regularly to do something in common.

Fast forward to 2012 when I worked with my neurologist to get on the right prescription that prevented most of my migraines.  With that relief came a sense of freedom I hadn’t felt in a long time, and one of those freedoms was that I could now drink beer without fear of a horrible migraine every time. Being someone that likes to try new things, I found myself eventually becoming a craft beer drinker.

If you go to the same places and attend the same annual events, you’ll eventually start recognizing others who show up regularly. I started making a few friends here and there, which was nice.  Then I decided to check out the weekly bottle share at a local bar. Boom!  It’s a group of people who bring different bottles of beer for everyone to try. It’s a simple concept. Nothing really revolutionary.  But it’s an opportunity to get together with a group of people on a regular basis and do something that we all enjoy.

I’ve still only been a few times, but it’s become something that I really look forward to each week.  Until now, I didn’t realize how much I missed being part of a group dynamic.

How does that make you feel?

