Some thoughts on homeschooling

Posted: March 29, 2015 in Random
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The other day one of my old friends from when I used to go to church posted the following article on Facebook:

article about homeschooling

I started to leave a comment, but I ultimately decided that there was no point.  It’s not like my simple Facebook comment was going to convince my friend to immediately enroll his kids into public school.

Instead, though, I’ll share my thoughts here, and you can let me know what you think.

Before I even clicked on the article to read it, I felt that this was pretty ridiculous. Did this study really need to be conducted?  If you subject someone only to idea X, then what are the chances that they’ll disagree with X? Reading the article didn’t change my initial reaction.

Basically, it seems like homeschooling is a way for parents (at least Christian parents) to ensure that their children’s only influence are their own personal beliefs. I think that this is sad and unfair.  There’s a particular hymn that this reminded me of. It is “I Have Decided To Follow Jesus.” The key word there is “decided.” You decided, but, as a parent, are you letting your child make the same decision?

Full disclosure: I was never homeschooled, but I did go to a private christian school from Kindergarten thru 9th grade before I transferred to a public school.  Years later, I finally dropped out of church but not due to anything I learned in public school. It was just a decision I made as I grew up and lived less of, what I consider in hindsight to be, a relatively sheltered life.

All of that being said, though, if someone’s faith is real, shouldn’t it be solid enough to stand up to opposing ideas? I know it’s been a while since I picked up a copy of the Bible, but I vaguely remember Jesus saying something about being in the world but not of the world.

How does that make you feel?

