…for a girl.

Posted: April 26, 2015 in Real Life
Tags: ,
One-Eyed Doll

picture from One-Eyed Doll’s tumblr

A few weeks ago I was finally able to take my 13-year old nephew to his first concert, and we saw One-Eyed Doll.  As I was driving him home the next day, he was still talking about his experience, and he made a comment about the lead singer. He said that she played guitar pretty good for a girl.

Immediately, I said, “Wait a sec… what do you mean ‘for a girl’?”  He fumbled over his words for a few seconds, and then admitted that he probably should have said it differently.  I didn’t let it go, tho.  I used it as an opportunity to talk with him about the issue. I told him to not automatically assume that men are better or that being a woman makes a person subpar at something.

I was thankful for the opportunity to have the conversation. I’m thankful that I was paying attention to what he said and actually had the frame of mind to put my thoughts together about it.  I’m glad I was able to approach the issue, not in a scolding manner, but in manner to encourage him to think about his views.

I’m a firm believer that the way people speak, the words they choose to use to discuss something, reveals their thought process.  That’s my primary motivation for correcting someone, even at work.  I don’t want to nitpick about them using this word versus that word, but if I think that their word choice means that they don’t have the correct understanding about something, then I’ll try to take the opportunity to explain why it’s important to phrase it a different way.

Have you ever had a similar experience with children, peers, or others where you’ve had an opportunity to challenge their thinking on a particular topic? Leave your stories in the comments. I’d love to hear them.

How does that make you feel?

