Satan, Lucifer, and some really chill music

Posted: August 2, 2015 in Random
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

evil french fries

If there’s one thing I learned growing up going to a Southern Baptist church and attending an Independent Southern Baptist school, it’s that it’s very easy to worship the Devil. So easy, in fact, that  you could do it by accident.

In the 80s, the most dangerous thing corrupting teenagers was heavy metal music.  Not just because of the content of the music but because of the hidden messages. (Take a second and google backmasking to see what I’m talking about.”)  It’s interesting that the excessive drinking, womanizing, etc. portrayed in country music wasn’t a problem, but heavy metal music was straight from the Devil himself. Ok, if you say so.

And then there were the french fries.  It’s been a long time, so I could be getting some of the details wrong.  I’m pretty sure, tho, that purchasing the wrong frozen french fries could result in you supporting the work of the Devil. It was something along the lines of Walt Disney propagating non-traditional family values, and they owned the parent company for Ore-Ida. So if you purchased Ore-Ida french fries, tater tots, etc., then you were inadvertently supporting Disney and in turn supporting their anti-Christian propaganda.

Having been inundated with those kinds of messages growing up, it was a surprise when I sampled the band “Satan” on Amazon. One week browsing the new releases, I saw their album listed, and I clicked out of curiosity. I was surprised by what I’d heard. It wasn’t the growling, violent, thrashing sound that I expected. It was actually pretty chill.  Check it out for yourself if you don’t believe me.

Then a few weeks ago, I found this band called Lucifer with a female lead. Once again, I was surprised at how chill this music was. (You should sample this one too.)

What does all of this prove?  Nothing really. The contrast just struck me, and it caused me to reflect upon some of the religious hype that I grew up around.

How does that make you feel?

