The paths we walk

Posted: October 25, 2015 in Random
Tags: , , , , , ,

Pathway In Forest Of Thailand

It’s been awhile since I’ve written about being single, so I’ve been thinking about it lately. Not that it’s ever been the sole motivation for what I do or post, but in the past I’ve tried to portray myself in contrast to friends that were bemoaning not being in a relationship. Not to rub their face in anything, but to say, “Hey, look over here. I’m having a good time… by myself.” Well, things change.

Don’t get me wrong. I still stand by what I’ve said in the past. I don’t think that you have to let your happiness be dependent upon whether or not a particular person is present. At the same time, tho, I’ve been doing more activities with a variety of people. Still single, but not always flying solo.  Whether solo or not, I find that I generally have a good time.

But maybe that isn’t for everyone. I mean, I still hope that I can set a positive example for anyone disparaging their singleness, but I’ve come to realize that this is my path. And others have to make their own choices. While I had already been thinking a little along these lines, it really struck me when a friend posted the other day celebrating his sobriety.  Hey, good for him, but that’s definitely not where I am in my life.

Sure, there are lessons we can learn from each other, but we have to figure out how that fits into our individual paths. Ever bought a book about keys to success but found that you weren’t magically successful? That’s because you’re reading about what worked for someone else but not necessarily what will work for you.

I feel like, to a certain extent, we all live in our own separate universe with its own set of rules unique to each of us.  What works for you, may not work for me, and vice versa.

How does that make you feel?

