Sense of security like pockets jingling Midlife Crisis

Posted: November 8, 2015 in Random
Tags: , ,

Our "New" 1978 Alfa Romeo by Jen Wakefield-Dillier on Flickr

So I’m 40… now what? Oh yeah, I guess it’s time for a midlife crisis. But really, I don’t think I have anything to worry about.

I have this stereotypical image of the midlife crisis guy in my head. It’s the guy who’s balding on top and just left his wife for a hot, young blonde that he attracted with his new red sports car he couldn’t really afford. Where did this image come from? I’m not sure. I haven’t watched anything that referenced someone going through a midlife crisis in quite sometime, so it was probably a product of movies in the 80s and early 90s.

But if that’s still the image for a midlife criser, then I think I’ll be okay. Balding? Ha… I shave my head. No worries there. Red sports car? I really enjoy not having a car payment, so I hope that lasts a good while longer. No wife, so there’s no one to leave. Hot blonde… hmm… Well, I’m not sure I’d say no to that, but I’m not trying to be anyone’s sugar daddy. These days, I prefer to spend my extra money on beer to share with my friends.

Although there are probably better sources than Wikipedia, I’m much too lazy to check them. Here’s what it says, “Despite popular perception of this phenomenon, empirical research has failed to show that the midlife crisis is a universal experience, or even a real condition at all.” It goes on to talk about life changing events, unstable mental and emotional conditions, and other factors¬†that would cause you to become dissatisfied with your life. I suppose that can happen to anyone at any time, not necessarily in the middle.

For now, tho, I think I’ll be just fine. ¬†If, however, you catch me driving around in a red convertible with a wannabe supermodel in the passenger seat, then it may be time for an intervention… or a hi-five.

How does that make you feel?

