Blanket People

Posted: May 15, 2016 in Real Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

people sitting on blankets

A few weeks ago at Welcome To Rockville, I observed more people using blankets than I recall from previous years. One of the stages (there were 4 total) had more open lawn space than the others, and people took advantage of this. It was an interesting thing to witness.

Watching the way some people acted with their blankets, I was reminded of Eddie Izzard’s bit about flags. I was standing behind this one group on Saturday, and I watched how they acted. Someone’s bag was on the back corner of the blanket, and instead of moving the bag to the middle of the blanket between people, this guy would angrily stare at people walking by, daring them to step on the bag. He did this for about 20-30 minutes before someone in the group suggested moving the bag.

Then on Sunday, I’m standing behind some people watching a band, and three girls bring a blanket and start setting it down in front of me. I had to step back. No one asked me, but I could tell there wasn’t enough room there. They had their flag, I mean blanket, and were ready to claim that square of dirt for themselves.

Thinking about it, I can’t relate to these blanket people. As soon as you sit, you’re taking up more room than if you were standing. Unless you’re on the edge of the blanket (and who would be?), you’re taking up even more room with the blanket itself. And it’s already crowded. And assuming I want to see bands on other stages, I’d have to pick it up and claim a new square of land at the next stage. Even without all of the territorial behavior, it just seems like a real hassle to me.

How does that make you feel?

