My Beard

Posted: June 5, 2016 in Random
Tags: , , , , , ,

I don't remember why I took this picture, but isn't it great?

Every once in awhile, I get the itch to do a little research. It seems most of what is represented for beards is the beard/mustache combo. This, of course, results in me getting the occasional question about why I don’t have a mustache or jokes about me sporting an Amish Metal look (which I may have started?). I decided to start looking online, and here’s what I found out.

First, I was curious about why Amish grow beards without mustaches. A quick Google search revealed this as a very easy question to answer. Multiple sources cite the reason is because the Amish came to associate mustaches with military men, and since they are pacifists, they decided to grow beards without mustaches. While it’s simply a coincidental preference, this is actually very fitting for me since I have never served in the military.

Next on my Google journey, as I looked for more references of this beard style, I learned it is called Shenandoah. I started questioning the name of the style because Lincoln had a similar style, and he wasn’t Amish. Wikipedia has this to say: A Shenandoah is a style of facial hair or beard. The hair is grown full and long over the jaw and chin, meeting with the sideburns but lacking a moustache.

So there you have it. Other than where the name “Shenandoah” originated, all my questions are pretty much answered… for now. To paraphrase the Rifleman’s Creed

This is my beard. There are many like it, but this one is mine.
My beard is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life.
Without me, my beard is useless. Without my beard, I am useless.

How does that make you feel?

